The 2015 Prize




Buy your tickets here


We are delighted to announce the winner of the 2015 Papatango New Writing Prize, from over 600 entries, is Tomcat by James Rushbrooke.

JMK Award winner Kate Hewitt directs an Olivier Award-winning cast.

Brian Doherty (Antony and Cleopatra, RSC), Diana Kent (The Heresy of Love, RSC; Suite Francaise), Edward Harrison (Wolf Hall, RSC), Susan Stanley (F*ck The Polar Bears, Bush Theatre) and Olivier Award winner Eleanor Worthington-Cox (Matilda, RSC).
Tomcat cast

“Oh, she’s dangerous. But not because of her genes. Because of you.”

In the not-too-distant future, the world is better than ever. Diseases and disorders have been wiped out. But Jess doesn’t belong. She slipped through the net and there’s something dangerous in her DNA, something that must be ‘cured’.

Charlie is watching Jess. He’ll do whatever it takes to keep society safe.

As debate over genetic screening rages, Tomcat’s urgent vision questions the lengths to which we will go to keep humanity healthy.

When you can learn everything about a person on a computer screen, does that mean there’s nothing left to discover?

The winner of the seventh Papatango New Writing Prize, Tomcat was chosen from more than 600 entries.

It follows in the footsteps of previous Prize writers including BAFTA winner Dominic Mitchell, OffWestEnd Award and RNT Foundation Playwright Award winner Dawn King, Louise Monaghan (Radio Four), Tom Morton-Smith (Oppenheimer, RSC and West End), Luke Owen (Unscorched, Milan Playwriting Festival), Jaki McCarrick (Belfast Girls, USA) and Fiona Doyle (Deluge, Hampstead Theatre).

The 2015 Papatango Prize is supported by


BSTNHB LOGO with strapline_colour


   Derek Hill Foundation, Boris Karloff Charitable Foundation,

   Garrick Charitable Trust, Harold Hyam Wingate Foundation.