The 2014 Prize



We are delighted to announce that the winner of the sixth Papatango New Writing Prize in association with the Finborough Theatre is Coolatully by Fiona Doyle.

Coolatully was chosen from more than 500 entries by a panel including the four members of Papatango – George Turvey, Matt Roberts, Sam Donovan and Chris Foxon – with  Neil McPherson, Artistic Director of the Finborough Theatre. All scripts were judged anonymously.

There will be a four week run at the Finborough Theatre, from Tues 28 October – Sat 22 Nov 14, directed by David Mercatali. The script will be published by Nick Hern Books.

Lyrical, urgent and compassionate, Coolatully shines a light on modern rural Ireland, asking whether a generation can be saved.

Kilian was once Coolatully’s pride and joy, their champion on the hurling field. Now the village can’t muster a team, the country’s shutting down, and his girlfriend Eilish wants to leave for a new life across the ocean. As Irish history repeats itself, Kilian must confront the demons of the past and decide whether to stay or go forever.

Winning playwright Fiona Doyle lives in County Kerry, Ireland. Coolatully will be her first full production.  Her play ‘So Gay’ won Play for the Nation’s Youth last year. ‘Abigail’ was longlisted for the 2013 Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting. ‘Deluge’ has just won the 2014 Eamon Keane Full-length Play Award. Productions of her short plays include ‘Rootbound’ 2013 and ‘Rigor Mortis’ (Arcola Theatre 2014) and ‘Two Sisters’ (Southwark Playhouse 2013).

We cannot wait to produce and publish this fantastic new play from another undiscovered playwright.

Thank you to everybody that entered this year’s prize. The standard was incredibly high and it was a pleasure to read all of your scripts.

Click here to buy tickets.

The 2014 Papatango Prize is supported by


untitled            RVHlogo              Garfield_Weston

 Boris Karloff Charitable Foundation