Previous Prize-Winners

Papatango New Writing Prize winners have often been unproduced and/or unrepresented (though we encourage applications from all writers of any background, and entries are assessed anonymously). They have gone on to tremendously successful careers.

The very first winner of the Papatango New Writing Prize, Dominic Mitchell, won a BAFTA in 2014 for his BBC series In The Flesh, having been discovered by Papatango. Dom is now one of our Artistic Advisors.

Jaki McCarrick, the 2010 prize-winner with Leopoldville, has since had her play Belfast Girls developed at the National Theatre, shortlisted for the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize and premiered in Chicago.

2011 prize-winner Dawn King’s Foxfinder was one of The Independent’s Top 5 Plays of the Year, was a finalist for the Susan Smith Blackburn Award and won the OffWestEnd Award for Most Promising Playwright. Dawn went on to win a prestigious Pearson Bursary and her next show Ciphers toured nationwide with Out of Joint. Foxfinder has just won the inaugural Royal National Theatre Foundation Playwright Award and has transferred to Australia, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Sweden and the U.S.A.

Louise Monaghan, the writer of the 2012 winning play Pack, has just premiered on BBC Radio Four and recently participated at The Love Inn at Bolton Octagon Theatre.

Tom Morton-Smith, runner-up in 2012, has since been commissioned by the RSC. Oppenheimer premiered in 2015 and transferred to the West End.

Luke Owen, winner in 2013 for Unscorched, went from an unrepresented copy-writer with no professional theatre experience to being signed by United, the biggest agency in the country. Unscorched will premiere in Italy in 2015.

Fiona Doyle, winner in 2014 for Coolatully, was signed by Curtis Brown and next play Deluge premiered at Hampstead Theatre in spring 2015. Fiona is now on attachment at the National Theatre Studio.

2015 winner James Rushbrooke was signed by the Agency, joined Old Vic New Voices as a writer on attachment, and saw Tomcat nominated for an Off West End Award for Best New Play.

2016 winner Matt Grinter was nominated for an Off West End Award for Most Promising Playwright and signed by The Agency.

2017 Prize-winner Stewart Pringle has just been nominated for the Off West End Award for Most Promising Playwright, and is now working on his follow-up play with Papatango.